413-594-1800 (voice)

413-376-7788 (text)

Home > Collections & Resources > Subject Guides > Genealogy Resources

Genealogy Resources

To access Ancestry.com, use the icon provided on the library computer's desktop. If you have questions, ask a librarian.

Access is available in the library only. No offsite access is available.

Online access to military records, census data, historic newspapers, and other history and genealogy resources.

Over 31,700 full text articles from the Greenfield (Mass.) Gazette & Courier, dating from January 1, 1870 to September, 1875. The index is continually growing as volunteers hand-type and add newspaper articles from many Franklin County papers to the index.

Provider: 

A database to search for ancestors and relatives. Includes searches of census information, local history, selected Revolutionary War records and Freedman's Bank (1865-1874) which was founded to serve African Americans.

Complete full text content of the New York Times cover to cover, including obituaries.

Complete full text content of Massachusetts newspapers including: North Adams Advocate, Amherst Bulletin, Berkshire Eagle, Daily Hampshire Gazette, North Adams Transcript, Greenfield Recorder, Springfield Republican, Springfield Advocate, Springfield Examiner, Sunday Republican, Springfield Union News, Easthampton Valley Advocate. Paid advertisements are excluded.

Full-text coverage of the Boston Globe from 1980 to current.

Locations & Hours

Emily L. Partyka
Central Library
449 Front St
Chicopee, MA
01013
413-594-1800
Map or Directions

  1. Monday: 9am-9pm
  2. Tuesday: 9am-9pm
  3. Wednesday: 9am-9pm
  4. Thursday: 9am-9pm
  5. Friday: 9am-5pm
  6. Saturday: 9am-4pm
  7. Sunday: 12pm-4pm